Day 7- Paleo Pad Thai

https://i0.wp.com/www.theclothesmakethegirl.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/padthai.jpg

Ingredients:

  • Two Chicken Breasts
  • 1 C Chicken Broth
  • 1 C Almond Milk
  • 1/3 C Almond Butter
  • 1/2 t Red Curry Paste
  • 2 Medium-Large Zucchini
  • 1 Carrot
  • 2 Radishes
  • 1/2 Lime to Garnish
  • 1/3 C chopped almonds
  • Salt to taste

Directions:

1. Prep Your Veggies.  To create my noodles, I used a mandolin to slice my zucchini into thin, wide strips.  I further cut them down with a knife into 3/8th” to resemble fettuccine.  I also used my mandolin to slice up a carrot and a couple of radishes that I used as edible garnishes for my dish.  You could add any veggies you want! Lightly salt your veggies and put them into the fridge to chill as you prep your chicken and sauce.

2. Cook Your Chicken.  I used two chicken breasts, sliced into 1” strips and cooked them in coconut oil.  Remove and place on a plate with paper towel to absorb a little of that oil.

3. Make Your Sauce.  Use the same pan as you used for your chicken and deglaze using chicken broth (I like the organic, low sodium variety). Lower to medium heat. Now add in your almond butter, stirring it to dissolve.  Next add in almond milk.  You may want to adjust with more or less of these ingredients to get your desired consistency.  Now, add  in your red curry paste for a little spice.  Finally, add salt to taste and stir sauce as it thickens.  Add chicken back into pan to let it absorb flavors.  I did this for about 10 minutes as I waited for my husband to come home!

4. Assemble on plate. Use your zucchini noodles as a base and create a nest like shape in the center of your plate.  Add chicken strips on top, then pour the sauce over top.  Add your veggies, chopped almonds and a couple of limes around the plate.  Enjoy!

Leave a comment